Phorest alternatives for hair salons in Australia: the honest 2026 guide
Search "Phorest alternatives Australia" and most of what comes back is written by Phorest's competitors, priced in US dollars, or aimed at American spas. This guide is not neutral either: it lives on the blog of ViteUneCoupe, a free online booking system for hair salons with 0% commission. The difference is method. Every claim about Phorest below was checked on phorest.com's own Australian pages in October 2026, every alternative's price was checked on the vendor's own site the same month, and we are upfront about what ViteUneCoupe does not do, starting with the fact that it sends email reminders rather than SMS and bills in euros.
Let us also say what the competitor listicles will not: Phorest is good software. Founded in Ireland in 2003, it says over 12,000 salons, spas and aesthetic clinics run on it worldwide, it maintains a real Australian site with a local 1800 number and Australian salon case studies from Brisbane and Melbourne, and its marketing and client-retention tools are genuinely deep. If you are reading this, the problem is usually not the product. It is that you cannot learn the price without a sales call, that your salon is smaller than the salons Phorest is built for, or that metered SMS and a quote that crept up at renewal have you wondering what the rest of the market charges.
What Phorest costs in Australia: you have to ask
Here is what Phorest's Australian pricing page showed when we checked it in October 2026:
- Three main plans, no prices. Grow, Complete Advantage and Complete Advantage Plus (plus two aesthetics-clinic variants) are all quote-only. There is no dollar figure anywhere on the page; every plan ends in a request for a quote.
- Built for teams of three or more. The page describes the plans as "perfect for 3+ staff". A solo stylist or a two-chair salon is not who this product is designed for, and Phorest says so itself.
- No free trial. The page is direct about it: Phorest does not offer a free trial, you get a personalised demo instead. You cannot test it with real bookings before committing.
- SMS is metered, in Australian cents. The AU page lists SMS at 12c per message on Grow and 8.5c per message on the Complete Advantage plans. All plans advertise unlimited devices and unlimited staff.
- Payments run through PhorestPay, with card processing, stored-card checkout and gift cards; processing rates are not published on the pricing page either.
- No contract terms on the page. Minimum term, notice period and cancellation conditions are not stated, which means they live in your individual agreement.
None of that is a scandal. Quote-based pricing is normal at the top of the salon software market, and Kitomba and Shortcuts, Phorest's most obvious full-suite rivals here, do exactly the same thing. But it has a practical consequence: you cannot compare Phorest from your staff room, you cannot try it before you sign, and you cannot easily check whether the quote you accepted two years ago still matches what a new salon pays today.
What the metered SMS actually costs a salon
The per-message rates look tiny until you multiply them. Take a four-chair salon doing 60 appointments a week, sending one confirmation and one reminder per appointment, all by SMS. That is roughly 520 messages a month. On Grow at 12c each, about A$62 a month in texts on top of the subscription; on a Complete Advantage plan at 8.5c, about A$44. Add marketing campaigns and the meter runs faster. Those are our assumptions, not Phorest's figures, so run the same sum with your own appointment volume before any demo. Our guide to the real cost of salon software in Australia walks through every hidden line of this maths.
The questions to bring to a Phorest demo
If you do book the demo, arrive with these written down and ask for the answers in an email:
- The total monthly cost for your exact team size, including any setup, onboarding or training fees.
- The contract length and notice period, since the pricing page states neither.
- What a typical month of confirmations, reminders and campaigns would cost in SMS at your appointment volume.
- What a full client-data export includes (contacts, appointment history, notes, in what format), confirmed before you ever need it.
Those four questions are a good filter for any vendor, not just Phorest.
Phorest alternatives for Australian salons: prices checked in October 2026
Every figure below was checked on the vendor's own website in October 2026. Several vendors geo-localise their pricing pages and our tools browse from outside Australia; where we could not confirm an Australian-dollar grid we say which currency the page actually showed rather than guessing. Prices change, so confirm on the pricing page before signing. For the full market tour, see our comparison of hair salon booking software in Australia.
| Software | Subscription (as shown, October 2026) | Reminders | Trial | Commitment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phorest (for reference) | Not published, quote only; "perfect for 3+ staff" | SMS metered, 8.5c to 12c AUD each | No trial, demo only | Not stated on the page |
| ViteUneCoupe | Free plan; Standard from 29 € excl. tax/month, billed in euros | Email only (Standard plan) | Free plan, no card | No commitment |
| Square Appointments | Free A$0; Plus A$40; Premium A$90 per location/month | Text and email, free plan included | Free plan | No long-term commitment |
| Timely | Per bookable staff member; AU starting price A$42/month in the page's own data | SMS allowance per plan + email | Trial available | Monthly billing |
| Simple Salon (Melbourne) | Shown to us in USD: Starter $20, Pro $34, Max $41 per operator/month, capped at 7 | SMS included on Pro/Max, then metered; 14c PAYG on Starter | 14 days | No contracts |
| Ovatu (Australian, bills in USD) | Neat US$25 + US$7 per extra staff; Loaded US$38 + US$10 | SMS about US$0.04 each + email | 30 days | No lock-in |
| Fresha | Shown to us in euros: €14.95 solo, €9.95 per team member/month | 20 free messages/month, then about €0.10 per text | 7 days | No minimum commitment |
Notice what is missing from that table: Kitomba and Shortcuts, the two other full-suite heavyweights in the Australian market. Both are serious products and both, like Phorest, sell by quote, so if opaque pricing is what sent you here, switching between the three solves nothing. We cover them separately in our guides to Kitomba alternatives for Australian hair salons and Shortcuts alternatives for Australian hair salons.
ViteUneCoupe: free bookings, 0% commission, honest about its limits
Our own tool first, so you know exactly where we stand. ViteUneCoupe is not a like-for-like Phorest replacement: Phorest is a full salon suite with POS, stock, marketing automation and metered SMS; ViteUneCoupe is a booking system. There is no point-of-sale, no deposits or payments, no stock, and no SMS on any plan: reminders are email only. Phorest's Complete Advantage plans also include a Reserve with Google integration, which ViteUneCoupe does not offer; the free alternative is putting your booking page link on your Google Business Profile.
What it does, it does at a price no quote can beat. The free plan gives a hair salon unlimited online bookings with 0% commission, permanently: a personalised booking page, your service menu with photos, individual stylist schedules, a client database and your calendar. No card details, no trial countdown and no per-staff fee, which also makes it the simplest answer to Phorest's no-trial policy, because you can run real client bookings through it before paying anyone anything. Australian mobile numbers in +61 format work normally in the client database, and the interface and booking page are available in English.
The Standard plan, from 29 € excluding tax per month with no commitment, adds automatic emails (confirmation, a reminder before the appointment, a thank-you after) and ICS calendar sync with Apple, Google or Outlook. Anti no-show protection by bank-card hold is coming soon in a Standard + Anti No-Show plan at 49 € excluding tax per month; it is not live yet, so do not buy on that promise. One more honest limit for Australian readers: paid plans are billed in euros, so the charge on your statement moves with the exchange rate and your bank may add a foreign-transaction fee. The free plan, of course, is billed in nothing.
Best for: the solo stylist or small salon, exactly the under-three-staff businesses Phorest says it is not built for, whose diary is the expensive problem and whose payments already work fine on an existing EFTPOS terminal.
Square Appointments: the transparent full-stack answer in AUD
Checked on Square's Australian pricing page in October 2026: a free plan at A$0 for a single location that includes text and email reminder notifications, then Plus at A$40 and Premium at A$90 per location per month, with no long-term commitments. Square earns on processing instead: 1.6% in person and 2.2% online on every plan. For a salon drawn to Phorest's bookings-plus-payments shape, Square is the closest thing with a published Australian price list, and SMS reminders included from the free tier directly answer Phorest's per-message billing. The trade-off is that Square serves every appointment industry, so you lose the salon-specific depth: no colour notes out of the box, no retention campaigns like Phorest's marketing suite. Our guide to Square Appointments alternatives for Australian hair salons looks at it from the other direction.
Best for: the salon that wants bookings, payments and included SMS from one supplier, priced publicly in Australian dollars.
Timely: salon-focused, trans-Tasman, and you can read the price
Timely, built in Dunedin and widely used on both sides of the Tasman, is the natural step down from Phorest for a hair salon that wants salon-specific software without the quote process. Its pricing page geo-localises, so from our connection it displayed US dollars, but the page's own structured data lists an Australian starting price of A$42 per month, checked in October 2026; plans are charged per bookable staff member, billed monthly, and each tier includes a monthly SMS allowance with excess messages metered. For day-to-day salon running (calendar, clients, reminders, rebooking) it covers most of what a Phorest salon actually uses, without Phorest's full marketing automation. Confirm the complete Australian grid from an Australian connection before signing. We compare it in depth in our guide to Timely alternatives for Australian hair salons.
Best for: the two-to-six-chair salon that wants hair-industry software with published per-staff pricing and SMS included in the plan.
Simple Salon: the Melbourne-built option with Australian servers
Simple Salon has been built in Melbourne since 2005 and states plainly that its servers are in Australia, which matters to owners who care where client data lives. Checked on its pricing page in October 2026, the page showed us US dollars through a currency selector: Starter at $20, Pro at $34 and Max at $41 per operator per month, with the bill capped at the seven-operator price however large the team. SMS is pay-as-you-go at 14c on Starter, while Pro and Max include monthly SMS allowances before metering kicks in. There is a 14-day trial and the page states no contracts, no fixed term and no sign-up fees. Confirm the Australian-dollar figures from a local connection.
Best for: the salon that wants an Australian vendor, month-to-month terms and texting, without a full POS commitment or a sales call.
Ovatu: Australian-made, priced in US dollars
Ovatu is made in Australia but publishes its pricing in US dollars, checked in October 2026: Neat at US$25 per month plus US$7 per additional staff member, Loaded at US$38 plus US$10, SMS at about US$0.04 per message, a 30-day free trial and no lock-in contract. For a small team priced out of Phorest's 3+ staff positioning, the arithmetic is easy to do yourself: a three-person salon on Neat is US$39 a month before texts. The currency quirk cuts both ways: an Australian company billing in USD means your statement moves with the exchange rate, the same caveat we gave about our own euro billing above.
Best for: the small salon that wants a long trial, low per-staff pricing and SMS, and accepts USD billing.
Fresha: the marketplace route, in euros when we checked
Fresha pairs a consumer marketplace with a subscription. Checked on fresha.com's pricing page in October 2026, it showed us €14.95 per month for an independent professional or €9.95 per team member per month, a 7-day trial, no minimum commitment, 20 free client messages a month then about €0.10 per text, online payments at 1.29% + €0.15, and no fees on new or returning marketplace clients as the page currently states. We could not confirm an Australian-dollar grid from our connection, so check which currency an Australian salon is billed in before signing, and note that Fresha's marketplace terms have changed over time. The full breakdown is in our guide to Fresha alternatives for Australian hair salons.
Best for: the salon that wants marketplace visibility alongside its software and will keep an eye on metered messaging at salon volume.
Which profile suits which tool?
- Five-plus staff, heavy use of marketing campaigns, memberships and reporting: Phorest may genuinely earn its quote. Go to the demo with the four questions above and get every answer in writing.
- You want the full stack with published AUD prices: Square Appointments, accepting generalist software.
- You want salon-specific software without the sales call: Timely or Melbourne-built Simple Salon, confirming the AUD grid locally.
- One to three chairs, priced out of Phorest's own target market: Ovatu's low per-staff pricing, or ViteUneCoupe's free plan with 0% commission permanently.
- Your diary is the problem and payments already work on your existing terminal: ViteUneCoupe free, with email confirmations and reminders on the Standard plan when you want them. Our guide to free versus paid salon booking software in Australia helps you decide whether free covers you.
How to actually move off Phorest
Whichever way you go, the move is the same three steps, in this order. First, request your full data export from Phorest while your account is active (clients, appointment history and notes, and check the format it arrives in). Second, set up the new system and run both calendars in parallel for a week or two. Third, repoint your booking links on Google, Instagram and your website, and only then give notice, having re-read your agreement for the term and notice period it contains. Time it for a quieter month, not December. The full playbook, export checklist included, is in our guide to switching salon booking software without losing clients.
And whatever you move to, keep the habit Phorest taught you: automatic reminders protect your chairs. Whether they arrive by SMS or email matters less than that they go out every time; our guides to appointment reminders for Australian hair salons and reducing no-shows in an Australian hair salon show what reminders plus a clear policy achieve.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Phorest cost in Australia?
Phorest does not publish Australian subscription prices. Its AU pricing page, checked in October 2026, lists three quote-only plans (Grow, Complete Advantage, Complete Advantage Plus) described as perfect for 3+ staff, with SMS metered at 12c per message on Grow and 8.5c on the Complete Advantage plans. Any dollar figure you see on a third-party site is an unverified estimate: get your own quote, for your team size, in writing.
Does Phorest offer a free trial in Australia?
No. Phorest's Australian pricing page, checked in October 2026, says it does not offer a free trial and provides a personalised demo instead. If testing with real bookings matters to you, ViteUneCoupe's free plan, Square Appointments' free plan and Ovatu's 30-day trial all let you try before paying.
Is Phorest suitable for a solo hairdresser or small salon?
By Phorest's own description, its plans are "perfect for 3+ staff", so a solo stylist or two-chair salon is outside its target market. For small Australian salons, tools with published per-staff or free pricing, such as Timely, Ovatu, Square Appointments or ViteUneCoupe's free plan, are built closer to that scale.
What is the cheapest Phorest alternative for an Australian hair salon?
For pure online booking, ViteUneCoupe's free plan and Square Appointments' free A$0 plan both cost nothing, with different trade-offs: Square includes SMS reminders and earns on card processing at published Australian rates, while ViteUneCoupe charges 0% commission permanently but sends email-only reminders on its paid plan. Among paid options checked in October 2026, Ovatu starts at US$25 and Timely's Australian starting price is A$42 per month.
Can I export my client data from Phorest before switching?
Ask Phorest support for a complete export of contacts, appointment history and client notes, and confirm the format before you give notice, not after. Any serious alternative imports a standard CSV, and under Australian privacy good practice your client records remain your responsibility whichever platform holds them.